Sleater-Kinney ‘Dig Me Out’ Detail Covers Album, Share Courtney Barnett’s ‘Words and Guitar’

Sleater-Kinney celebrate the 25th anniversary of Dig Me Out with a new tribute album, Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers album, which will be released on October 21. The band had previously announced that artists including Wilco, St. Vincent, Courtney Barnett, Low, Linda Lindas, Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires, NNAMDÏ and Tunde Adebimpe’s record of radio shows. Today, they’ve shared the full tracklist, along with Courtney Barnett’s take on “Words and Guitar.” Check it out below.

“Artists who perform Dig me in have not so much covered the original 13 songs as reinterpreted and reshaped them,” Sleater-Kinney said in a statement. “Through added layers or subtracting guitars and drums, they give the songs a new path. Fresh rage, joy, pain, reclamation, cunning and longing. Other interpretations slow down or drag out the songs, trading urgency for contemplation, weariness, or even foreboding.

Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Album covers Cover Design:

Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Album covers Track List:

1.St. Vincent – “Dig Me Out”
2. Wilco – “One More Hour”
3. Margo Price – Turn It On
4. Tunde Adebimpe – “The Drama You’ve Been Craving”
5. Self-esteem – factory of the heart
6. Courtney Barnett – “Words and Guitar”
7. Black Belt Eagle Scout – “Enough”
8. Linda Lindas – “Little Babies”
9. Jason Isbell / Amanda Shires – “Not What You Want”
10. Tyler Cole – “Buy Her Candy”
11. Big Joanie – “The Things You Say”
12. Low – ’97 dance song’
13. NNAMDÏ – ‘Jenny’